The Strangest Things


Sometimes children say the strangest things. Strange I believe because as adults we think on a totally different plane – not always good. We have gone through a season of sickness in our family over the past few weeks. Around and around it goes, vomiting and other nice things that shouldn’t bear mentioning. It would seem that everyone except me has passed around this horrible stomach bug at least twice. Just a few days ago, my little princess Emma was the unhappy recipient of nausea, cramping and yes, vomiting.

As I sat on the couch just an hour or so after putting her down, I heard her in making some pretty disgusting sounds. I ran into her room only to find that she had thrown up all over the bed, the wall and herself including her hair. I rushed her to the bathroom to the toilet to let her finish her business and this is where the strangest thing came. As she leaned over the toilet all she could say was, “I’m sorry I threw up on my bed”. No crying. No dramatics. Just an apology. Such humility is to me unbelievable.

When Jesus was asked by His disciples “Who is greatest in the Kingdom of Heaven?”, Jesus made a profound statement, “I tell you the truth, unless you turn from your sins and become like little children, you will never get into the Kingdom of Heaven. So anyone who becomes as humble as this little child is the greatest in the Kingdom of Heaven.” – Matthew 18:3-4

Rarely do we see examples of loving-kindness and thinking of others first unless it is from an innocent child. My child seemed to be so concerned about the impact of her sickness on Mom and Dad that she completely ignored the fact that she was the one in need of attention, she was the one that needed to be held and cared for and yet all she could at that time think of was us. To my Emma – “I thank my God every time I remember you” – Phil. 1:3

Leave a Reply

