The Psalm


On a Youth retreat in December of 2002, we were challenged to separate ourselves, to go out into nature, look at God’s creation, read the Word and listen. There was a passage in my mind,

“For since the creation of the world His invisible attributes are clearly seen, being understood by the things that are made, even His eternal power and Godhead, so that they are without excuse” Romans 1:20.

As I pondered on the passage, I began to look out in front of where I was sitting. It was early, 9:30am, and I expected to see grand clouds, a marvelous sunrise and rolling mountains but instead I saw thick fog and 2 pine trees. As I listened for God’s voice, I heard the wind blow. I asked, “Is that You God?”

And the wind grew silent. Then a most peculiar sound…a creaking. It was the sound of the pine giving way to the almost inaudible wind.

Once again I asked, “Is that You God?” At that moment God spoke to my heart and my pen began to write. God revealed to me that the pine tree was me, in need of deeper roots, sometimes being uprooted and blown over by wind or breaking under extreme conditions.

I am without excuse.

I took the words given me by my the Lord my King very seriously and began to strive to be an Oak tree and not a pine but a tree with deep roots and strong. May I always be His obedient servant.

 

The Psalm

O God
I hear the wind. Is it You;
Or are You the quiet stillness and calm after.
I listen for Your Words.

O God,
Your fresh, clean air and season is a demonstration of newness,
Your cleansing power and pure Holiness.

O God,
I am the pine as the wind blows in the cold. I break and am uprooted.

O God,
Make me as the oak.
Give me deep strong roots to stand firm against all that seeks to destroy me

O God,
I give all that I have, all that I am, my greatest riches,
even my poverty to You and for Your service.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

